Remembering Irene: How High is the Water?

We’ve had another Woodstock Early Bird contribution to our remembrance of Tropical Storm Irene. Today’s Irene video is from John Swenor and Marsha Holt. It is a short documentary set to music of flooding at this home in Hammondsville:

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by john swenor on August 15, 2012 at 17:19

    This is on Route 106, just a few houses south of Keepers Cafe.

    Like

    • Posted by Diana Brown on August 16, 2012 at 10:15

      This is one of the most clear and therefore most awe inspiring pictures of the flood I have seen. Watching you record, foot by foot in the same area as the water rose up and inundated your home brought it all back.
      The music is just right.
      It makes me wonder if you folks are back round right?
      And it gives me a picture in my minds eye of what happened to those families who have houses that they barely escaped because the water rose more quickly and took away their houses.
      Thank you for sharing this. May things stay calm in Hammondsville.

      Like

      • Posted by john swenor on August 16, 2012 at 19:15

        Thank you Diana, I have hundreds of pictures , all from our property. We couldn’t get out so we just kept taking pictures from here all day. We also have a 3 minute video, but I didn’t post it because it has a few curse words. We are still trying to get our yard back in shape. We feel very lucky though because all we lost was land… Many people lost so much more.

        Like

  2. I was staying at a friend\’s house off the back side of Vail Field when I decided to go for a walk around town with my camera. I had no idea what I was about to see/experience…. I have posted many of my photo\’s and 2 videos during Irene to a Shutterfly website that I wish to share with everyone. http://irenevialarryhazen.shutterfly.com/
    Happy/sad viewing

    Like

Comments are closed.

