Smiling Over Colored Lights

We had a note from an Early Bird about the one tree with colored lights in Woodstock Village. This Bird said the colored lights amidst all the white lights has been making her smile.

We found out these are Gary Smith’s lights. Although the Woodstock Chamber puts up all the white lights for the holidays, the tree in front of Woodstock Pharmacy has, over the last couple seasons, sported a spot of color. “Because Gary likes colored lights,” we are told.

20130112-082346.jpg

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Heather white on January 12, 2013 at 09:01

    Thanks Julia !

    Like

  2. Posted by Margaret (Peggy) Kannenstine on January 12, 2013 at 09:22

    One of the B&Bs has colored lights too; I think it’s Charleston House. I love all the tiny white lights, but it is really nice to have some colors too 🙂

    WEB Reply…Yes, actually farther down the street several homes and businesses have colors. But Gary’s is the only stand- out in the very center of the Village.

    Like

  3. Posted by Diana Brown on January 12, 2013 at 09:51

    I absolutely love the little sparkly multicolored tree. It does make me smile too! I love all the lights- any kind , any color, any time. But Woodstock is particularly pretty, a real treat to drive through any time but especially of a winter evening.Thanks, Gary, thanks Julia.

    Like

  4. Posted by Nancy Hoblin on January 12, 2013 at 10:01

    I smile every time I see Gary’s lights.

    Like

  5. Here here to Gary and our local version of the Rainbow Coalition!

    Some of you may have seen my Subaru Outback with its roof rack adorned with a set of multi-colored Christmas lights. I do this every year because of the large number of people who stop me along the way (in parking lots and at stop lights) to tell me how much they enjoy the display. With all the horrible things that are happening around the world, I feel we should grab hold of every bit of joy.

    The only people who apparently do not share my view of public cheer are the two police officers (one in NH and one in VT) who have stopped me with a warning that only OFFICIAL POLICE VEHICLES are permitted to display blue lights.

    I admit it. Midst my array of 28 multi-colored LED lights, there is one tiny blue one. Isn’t it comforting to know that our police officers always have a keen eye out for preserving our safety?

    (WEB Note: Woodstock Early Bird drove from California through Oregon and Washington State on the way to Alaska with colored Christmas lights on her car and was never stopped. She even maintained the lights while travelling on the car ferry up the Inside Passage on Christmas Eve. They got a bit damp and so it made sense to disengage them so as not to have an electrical “situation” within the vehicle. However, the smiles along the way were worth it…Apparently West Coast police were occupied elsewhere…)

    Like

  6. Posted by Patsy Mathews on January 12, 2013 at 10:50

    And it’s beautiful! Thank you Gary!

    Like

Comments are closed.

