Gun Found in Vehicle: WUHS Debrief At High School

This letter sent to WUHSMS parents this afternoon and posted on the Woodstock Union High School / Middle School website:

Dear parents,

The following information was relayed to students and staff today:

A hunting rifle and ammunition were found in a student’s vehicle today.

Our investigation revealed no evidence of intent to harm anyone.

We are proceeding according to school policy and have notified law enforcement.

We will proceed with a regular school day.

Students and staff are not at risk.

A meeting of faculty and staff will be held at the end of the day today to debrief. Please contact the school with questions or concerns.

Thank you,
Greg Schillinger, Principal
Woodstock Union High School
//////////////////

From the Vermont Attorney General’s Website:

(For the record it is illegal to have guns on school property)

SELECTED VERMONT LAWS GOVERNING

THE USE AND POSSESSION OF FIREARMS

The following are selected Vermont statutes dealing with the use and possession of firearms.

For a complete listing of Vermont’s firearm statutes, please consult the Vermont Statutes Online, at
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/statutes2.htm.

Vermont’s hunting laws and regulations can be found at http://www.vtfishandwildlife.com/.

Title 13:

Section 4003. Carrying dangerous weapons

A person who carries a dangerous or deadly weapon, openly or concealed, with the intent or avowed purpose of injuring a fellow man, or who carries a dangerous or deadly weapon within any state institution or upon the grounds or lands owned or leased for the use of such institution, without the approval of the warden or superintendent of the institution shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $200.00, or both.

§ 4004. Possession of dangerous or deadly weapon in a school bus or school building or on school property

(a) No person shall knowingly possess a firearm or a dangerous or deadly weapon while within a school building or on a school bus. A person who violates this section shall, for the first offense, be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both, and for a second or subsequent offense shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.

(b) No person shall knowingly possess a firearm or a dangerous or deadly weapon on any school property with the intent to injure another person. A person who violates this section shall, for the first offense, be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both, and for a second or subsequent offense shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by John on May 7, 2013 at 21:01

    This says there has to be intent to do harm? Is it possible this student simply forgot it was in their vehicle? The way out zero tolerance laws go this person will likely be expelled, I am sure that is in the better good of this person and our community!

    Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: