A Word From Officer Jen

Officer Jen has been in public service since she was 18 and says it is part of who she is. She says she will continue to help people.

When we spoke with her today following the news that she had lost her job as a Woodstock Police Officer she said she would one day be open with the public about the circumstances that led to her dismissal. However, she says this is not the time – notwithstanding the loss of her job – since the matter is not necessarily closed.

For the moment, Officer Jen says she just wants people to know she appreciates having had the opportunity to serve the community for the past seven years.

Whether she ever again serves a community as a police officer, to Woodstock Early Bird – and many others – she remains “Officer Jen”, that friendly person who will chase a wayward dog to safety, show someone how to use jumper cables, come in off-duty as a EMT to make sure an individual puking their guts out is okay, help change someone’s oil, direct traffic at an accident scene and firmly enforce the laws of the State of Vermont in order to help keep maintain a safe and orderly community.

Thanks Officer Jen for your service!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Janice Prindle on May 8, 2013 at 16:25

    Officer Jen (and neighbor Jen),
    I appreciate the help you’ve given to me, among so many others. I wish you luck in your future endeavors. I know with your big heart you will find other ways to serve.

    Like

  2. Posted by Donna on May 8, 2013 at 17:43

    thank you, Jen.

    Like

  3. Sometimes doors close but from my personal experience it is usually for the best. I do not know the circumstances since they were not expressed or allowed for public discussion. I can say I was misrepresented in the past, badly represented by a lawyer and have gone on to be a much happier person.

    Like

  4. Posted by Nicole Bartner on May 8, 2013 at 18:41

    I am glad to no longer live within the confines of the Town of Woodstock. There is not a single member of the Woodstock Police Force I would be thankful to see appear at my door to tell me, “You called, I came” the way Jen did when I needed the assistance of a Police Officer.

    Like

  5. Posted by Pat Crocker on May 8, 2013 at 19:58

    Terrible loss to the community. Thanks Jen for your caring and life-saving service. We will miss you. Pat & Dave Crocker

    Like

  6. Posted by Linda on May 9, 2013 at 19:07

    What a shame for the Woodstock community. I always found Jen to be ultra courteous, very open, and always professional. It was she who organized an event at Woodstock Sunoco to teach women how to complete automotive tasks on their own. She was also instrumental in organizing events for women to learn self-defense in domestics situations. She was kind, caring, and compassionate. As I said: what a shame for the Woodstock community.

    Like

Comments are closed.

