Rt 4 Fatal Car/Trailer Crash

Hartford Police Chief Braedon Vail confirms a female driver has died in an accident involving a horse trailer.

As of 5pm Vail says Route 4 will continue to be blocked off between Quechee and Taftsville for at least another hour.

Police are waiting for the Vermont State Medical Examiner and State Police Accident Reconstruction Team.

A third car driven by two Frenchmen was also clipped in the accident. A translator has been called to the scene.

The driver of the large horse trailer was unhurt and had just dropped off a load of horses in Taftsville. He drives out of Texas.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by simplewisdomvt on May 9, 2013 at 19:04

    So sad. I feel like route 4 has been unusually harsh this year, though I think the stretch east of Woodstock consistently is one of the most dangerous in the state.

    Like

  2. Posted by Don Rowe on May 9, 2013 at 19:33

    How many have to die before rt 4 is fixed?

    Like

  3. Posted by Freddie on May 9, 2013 at 20:08

    Rt. 4 still closed at 7:30. Just reached Taftsville at 8:00 via River Road into Woodstock and then looping back onto Rt. 4. Very sad circumstances.

    Like

  4. That’s fine with credit!

    Like

  5. Posted by Route 4 Driver on May 9, 2013 at 21:51

    I drive Route 4 daily and I’m not sure that it’s entirely the road’s fault. People are not paying attention and cross over the yellow line, that’s what is scary. I see so many drivers on their phone, eating, looking at everything BUT the road. I feel like I have a bullseye on my front bumper!

    Like

  6. Posted by Kim Sweeney on May 9, 2013 at 22:17

    Omg! This is one my friends. I am at a loss for words! I feel so bad for her family! My heart goes out to them all, she was an excellent mother, devoted wife and daughter. She will be truly missed by the hartland community!

    Like

Comments are closed.

